First College Reading Assignment

A while ago my college sent me my first reding assignment through the mail. It’s a book called Evocative Objects by Sherry Turkle. What it is, is a collection of essays about objects that are important to people and how said objects cause people to change their ways of thinking. At first I didn’t think I would like it…it’s just not my favorite style of literature to read. But I actually really loved it! The writing came mostly from professors from around the world and was beautiful written and the whole book was just really engaging. I recommend it to anyone looking for a great summer read.

20120714-125632.jpg

About thealreadyfreshman

A brand new college freshman sharing the adventure of my freshman year and the adventures that come after.

2 responses to “First College Reading Assignment

  1. Interesting book. What “objects” are they speaking of? I’m just wondering what type of object could change one’s life, or the way they perceive life? Did you just have to read the book, or did were you required to write a paper on it?

  2. Some of the objects are very simple such as a pair of ballet slippers or a stack of old comic books. Others are very complex such as the stars in space, slime mold or Foucault’s pendulum. The book is all about how these objects have played a role and how they continue to play a role in the writers lives. We only had to read the book, not write a paper but I’m sure there will be more discussion and possibly some writing on the book once school actually starts.

Leave a Reply

